Welcome to Makerere University, the region's premier, oldest and largest institution of Higher Education.

This manual is meant to help you settle into your new home as quickly and as seamlessly as possible. In here you find Useful Information meant to guide your stay on a whole range of matters relating to policy as well as services like accommodation, health care and security.

2015/2016 ACADEMlC YEAR 

Fresher's Orientations Saturday :15th August 2015 to Friday: 21st August 2015 (7 days )

Semester One: Saturday: 22nd August 2015 to Saturday 19th December 2015 (17 weeks)

Semester One Holiday Break: Saturday: 19th December 2015 to Friday 29th January 2016 (6 weeks)

Semester Two: Saturday: 30th January 2016 to Saturday 28th May 2016 (17 weeks )

Recess Term Saturday: 28th May 2016 to Saturday : 6th August 2016 (10 weeks )

66th Graduation Week: Monday: 18th January 2016 to Friday 22nd January 2016 


The Career Development Centre (CDC) is a partnership between Makerere University and NFT Consult, a leading Human Resource Consultancy based in Kampala with country offices in Kigali-Rwanda, Bujumbura-Burundi and Dar es Salaaam-Tanzania.

The Students Guild  is a link between the students’ body and the University Administration. It is headed by a Guild President who is democratically elected by the students in accordance with the existing guidelines.

For more on its activities and mandate please visit http://guild.mak.ac.ug