College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences

1) The School of Agricultural Sciences

  • Agricultural Production (AP)
  • Agribusiness and Natural Resource Economics (Ag & NRE)
  • Extension & Innovations (EI)

2) The School of Forestry, Environmental and Geographical Sciences

  • The Department of Forestry, Bio-Diversity and Tourism (F, B &T)
  • The Department of Environmental Management (EM)
  • The Department of Geography, Geo Informatics and Climatic Sciences (GGCS)

3) The School of School of Food Technology, Nutrition and Bio-engineering

  • Department of Agricultural & Bio systems Engineering (ABE)
  • Department of Food Technology and Human Nutrition (FT&HN)


College of Business and Management Sciences

1) The School of Economics

  • The Department of Economic Theory and Analysis
  • The Department of Policy and Development Economics

2) School of Business

  • The Department of Marketing & Management
  • The Department of Accounting and Finance.

3) School of Statistics and Planning

  • Department of Planning and Applied Statistics;
  • Department of Population Studies;
  • Department of Statistics and Actuarial Science


College of Computing and Information Sciences

1) School of Computing and Informatics Technology (CIT)

  • The Department of Computer Science
  • The Department of Information Technology
  • The Department of Information Systems, and
  • The Department of Networks.

2) East African School of Library and Information Science (EASLIS)

  • The Department of Library and Information Sciences and
  • The Department of Records and Archives Management.


College of Education and External Studies 

1) The School of Education (SoE)

  • Department of Humanities and Language Education
  • Department of Science, Technology and Vocational Education (DSTVE)
  • Department of Foundations and Curriculum Studies (DFCS)

2) The School of Distance and Lifelong Learning (SoDLL)

  • The Department of Adult and Community Education (DACE) and
  • Institute of Open Distance and eLearning

3) The East African School of Higher Education Studies and Development (EASHESD)

Other Units


College of Engineering, Design, Art and Technology

1) School of Engineering

  • The Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering;
  • The Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering; and
  • The Department of Mechanical Engineering.

2) School of the Built Environment

  • The Department of Architecture and Physical Planning;
  • The Department of Construction Economics and Management;
  • The Department of Geomatics and Land Management.

3) The Margaret Trowell School of Industrial and Fine Art

  • The Department of Fine Art;
  • The Department of Visual Communication Design and Multi-media;
  • The Department of Industrial Art and Applied Design.


College of Health Sciences

The College of Health Sciences was established on 1st December 2007 under the “Universities and Other Tertiary Institutions Act (Establishment of College of Health Sciences, Makerere University) Order, 2008. T

The college initialy started as a Faculty of Medicine in 1924, until 5th January 2008 when it was reconsittuted as a semi autonomous unit within the universty.

Vision: "To be a center for academic and health service excellence."

Mission: "We are dedicated to improving the health of the people of uganda and beyond and promoting health equity by providing quality education, research and health services. We achieve this by enhancing capacity and participation of stakeholders; strengthening systems and partnerships; and harnessing the power of new sciences and technology so as to build and sustain excellence and relevance"

The College comprises of four schools including

1) The School of Medicine

  • Department of Internal Medicine
  • Department of Surgery
  • Department Obstetrics & Gynaecology
  • Department of Psychiatry
  • Department of Family Medicine
  • Department of Anaesthesia
  • Department of Ear Nose Throat
  • Department of Ophthalmology
  • Department of Orthopaedics
  • Department of Radiology & Radio Therapy
  • Medical Research Centre
  • Reproductive Health Unit
  • Department of Paediatrics & Child Health

2) The School of Public Health

  • Department of Health Policy & Management
  • Department of Epidemic& Biostatistics
  • Department of Community Health & Behavioral Sciences
  • Department of Disease Control & Environmental Health

3) The School of Biomedical Sciences

  • Department of Human Anatomy
  • Department of Biochemistry
  • Department of Microbiology
  • Department of Pathology
  • Department of Physiology
  • Department of Pharmacology & Therapeutics
  • Department of Anatomy
  • Department of Medical Illustration

4) The School of Health Sciences

  • Department of Pharmacy
  • Department of Dentistry
  • Department of Nursing Department of Allied Health Sciences 

 For more information visit the College website


College of Humanities and Social Sciences

 1) The School of Liberal and Performing Arts

  • The Department of Philosophy

  • The Department of Development Studies

  • The Department of Religion and Peace Studies

  • The Department of Performing Arts & Film

  • The Department of History, Archaeology & Organizational Studies

2) The School of Women and Gender Studies

3) The School of Languages, Literature and Communication

4) School of Psychology

  • The Department of Mental Health and Community Psychology
  • The Department of Educational, Organizational and Social Psychology

5) The School of Social Sciences

6) Makerere Institute of Social Research (MISR)

College of Natural Sciences

1) The School of Physical Sciences

2) The School of Biosciences


College of Veterinary Medicine, Animal Resources & Bio-security

  1. The School of Bio-security, Biotechnical and Laboratory Sciences
  2. The School of Veterinary and Animal Resources


The School of Law

The School of Law attained College Status effective 1st July 2014, within the meaning of the Universities and Other Tertiary Institutions (Management of Constituent Colleges of Makerere University) Statute 2012. Although a College, it retained the name “School of Law”.

  • The Department of Law and Jurisprudence
  • The Department of Public Law
  • The Department of Commercial Law
  • The Department of Environmental Law
  • The Department of Human Rights and Peace Centre